First time on this ...

Notifications
Clear all

Welcome to The Hug Community

Where we matter.

To join our community, simply login to the forum using the menu above or 'register'. Create your account, sign in, then click a TOPIC to start a new thread / conversation.

Please always bear in mind our community guidelines before participating in any discussion.

First time on this platform  

Dray
 Dray
Topic starter  

Hi, this is my first time on here. I am a male in my 40's who came out of an abusive relationship 7 years ago. Somehow, I can't seem to move on.... My life changed so much in many different ways since then. Somehow I lost my self confidence and can't seem to move on. My ex is on my mind day and night and the dreams never stop.... I was at such a dark place when the relationship came to an end that I nearly took my own life 7 years ago. But here I am telling the tale ... 

I was told by her during our relationship that I was the poorest person in the world,  she pitied me. I was not worth the dirt under her shoes and many more. She even tried to strangle me and once during a very heated debate, she said she would cut me up into pieces. Somehow I always went back to that person and apologised even when I was not at fault. At the moment I think about her and still miss her and concentrate on the good times and try to forget the bad times. Because I am very lonely,  I used to be surrounded by many friends but my life changed. I am scared that I will never find love again or just good friends. Relationship is not my priority but just to feel truly happy again. I fear when I hear people shout or I can feel anger then I have to get away. Since everything happened I tried to avoid anyone who cones across like a bully or whose negative. I blame myself for the breakup,  if I had done things differently or behaved better then we could've still been together. When life was different,  we went away every bank holiday,  etc and now I am alone.